Wealthy Affiliate Review: Scam or Cash Generator?

Wealthy Affiliate offers Legit Work Home Opportunities

Welcome to My Wealthy Affiliate Review

I first found Wealthy Affiliate when I was on the verge to give up finding legit, work home opportunities.

The name Wealthy Affiliate sounds a little cheesy to me. And I was not sure how legit this program for me to start online affiliate business.

Since I was already going to give up online, why not I just give it another try.

Therefore I join as their free Starter member, before becoming premium.

Sign up for a free Starter account here.

Wealthy Affiliate Review Summary

Wealthy Affiliate Review_Legit Work Home OpportunitiesProduct Name: Wealthy Affiliate

Founder: Founded by Kyle & Carson

Product Type: Community-Based Affiliate Marketing Program

Price: Free Starter Membership & Premium Membership ($49/month or $359/year)

Best For: Affiliate Marketing For The Beginners

Summary: Wealthy Affiliate despite not all-inclusive, is my top recommendation for beginners to learn affiliate marketing. It can take longer time to see results as this program focuses on free traffic strategy. However as long as you consistently take action, the income generated is highly sustainable.

Rating: 90/100

Recommended: Yes

Quick Navigation

How Much Members Are Earning?

Inside Wealthy Affiliate, I found so many income proof shared by existing members.

Despite the amount earned is not as much as what was advertised in other programs, their stories inspire me.

You can find some of the latest income proof below.

Click the image if you want to read their success stories.

Rob Latest Success Story in Wealthy Affiliate

Tod Latest Success Story in Wealthy Affiliate_Commission June 2018

Grace Latest Success Story in Wealthy Affiliate _ Commission Aug 2018

I thought, if so many members can earn money online with Wealthy Affiliate, I am sure anyone can too.

That’s the reason why I wrote this review.

Yes, being a member of Wealthy Affiliate, I can be biased sharing my personal review. But this doesn’t mean I won’t give you my honest opinion.

I guarantee this is the most honest review about Wealthy Affiliate that I am going to share with you.

There are many things that I really like about this program but of course, there are things that need improvement too.

I hope after you finish reading, you too can make wise decision to choose the best program to start our online affiliate business.

If you are a complete beginner, here's how does affiliate marketing for the beginners work.

Is Wealthy Affiliate a Scam?

I am showing you income proof at the beginning of this post because recently there is a group of people who try to discredit Wealthy Affiliate by claiming that its members are not successful.

They concluded this by comparing blog traffic of WA members’ and members of other program.

We all know that traffic analytic is widely used as guideline for marketers to develop strategies.

But using traffic analytic as a benchmark to determine level of income can be pretty misleading.

I guess, this anger many Wealthy Affiliate members and therefore they started to share their income proof to refute this imprecise claim.

You can find more here.

Eddy Latest Success Story in Wealthy Affiliate_Commission Aug 2018

Mike Aff Training Latest Success Story in Wealthy Affiliate_Comm Sept 2018

Jerry Huang Latest Success Story in Wealthy Affiliate_Comm July 2018

 

Most of the income proof shown here are evidences of promoting one affiliate product.

What about if a member promotes more than one affiliate product like what Jerry recently did?

Don’t you think his income can multiple many times?

Jerry Huang Latest Success Story in Wealthy Affiliate_ Commission Sept 2018

Just like them, there are many more members who managed to earn money online with Wealthy Affiliate.

However, not all will show income proof. Some prefer not to. One successful member whom I know that prefer not to show income proof is Nathaniell.

Rather than showing income proof, he shows his journey with Wealthy Affiliate since starting in year 2010.

I am not sure why. But this is just human nature, we are all different in our own way. 

No doubt ranking is one of the factor to determine success but there are so many other contributing factors.

Furthermore, Wealthy Affiliate teaches more than one way to earn money online. Some incude SEO, PPC, email, social media and local marketing.

Not all income will come from member’s blog.

Ranking is definitely not the absolute way to measure success, particularly if it is income that we want to measure.

I wouldn’t say all members achieve success. Definitely there are dropouts from the program.

But, whether a member achieve success or not, it really depends on how consistence you are working towards your goal.

You don’t blame your teachers if you get a “Fail” in school right?

Being absence from blogging for almost 18 months (due to my 9-5 job commitment), my earning is definitely way behind those successful members.

I can’t possibly be blaming Wealthy Affiliate for my own decision?

What I hope to achieve by showing you all these income proof is to let you know that money can be made with Wealthy Affiliate.

One thing I can be sure is Wealthy Affiliate is Not a Scam. 

It has repeatedly proven to provide legit, work home opportunities that help many people achieve financial freedom.

What Exactly is Wealthy Affiliate?

Unlike most of the internet marketing programs that you find online, Wealthy Affiliate is much more than simply a training program helping people to earn money online.

I would say it is more like an interactive community of online entrepreneurs helping each other to achieve success in their online affiliate business.

If you ask 10 successful entrepreneurs, other than telling you hard work is the no.1 criteria to achieve success, they might also acknowledge getting help from others can push you further.

The point is, if you want to optimize chances to succeed online, then getting as much help as possible is really what you should do.

In Wealthy Affiliate, there are community helping each other to succeed.

You will learn about,

  1. Find a profitable niche market
  2. Get a good domain
  3. Build your own blog (does not require technical skills)
  4. Create high quality content
  5. Get ranked on Google
  6. Find profitable affiliate products to promote
  7. Finally earn passive income as you continue to build new niche businesses, etc.

It is free to join as Starter Member where you’ll be able to get your first website up and running within the first 7 days.

As starter member you too can experience …

  • Two Free Websites along with Free Hosting
  • Online Entrepreneur Certification (Getting Started Level 1) – 10 free lessons

Wealthy Affiliate Online Entrepreneur Certification Level 1 Video

  • The WA Writing Platform that helps you construct and organize your content
  • Access to 2 of the 12 classrooms within Wealthy Affiliate
  • Live support from the owners and other mentors for the first 7 days

After 7 days, you can either continue to bring your business forward and upgrade to premium membership or remain with free starter membership forever.

The main purpose of Free Starter Membership is to let you have a feel of how to start online affiliate business, primarily through blogging.

So you can assess and think through whether this is really for you.

It doesn’t mean by joining Free Starter Membership, you’ll have full setup of your online affiliate business.

The common question I get from starter members is, “Could I earn money remaining as free member?”

My answers is you certainly can IF you already have prior experiences on how this business works.

If you are a complete newbie, then completing the first level of training will not get you much other than just let you setup your website.

Premium membership is still needed if you want to build a profitable online affiliate business.

Going Premium: Crucial Support to Achieve Success

If you are really serious about building an online affiliate business, then my recommendation to you is to go premium.

With premium membership, you can access to complete features of the whole platform.

Some key Premium features are:

  • Full access to main training courses
  • Full access to thousands more tutorials and resources
  • Live Weekly Webinars
  • Community of Support
  • Owner Support
  • Live Chat
  • 1-on-1 consultation via Private Message
  • High Security, High Speed Web Hosting
  • SSL Certificates
  • Domain Registration

If you need more information of all features, you can find the comparison between Premium vs Starter here.

1. Tutorials & Classrooms (with 2018 upgrades)


Wealthy Affiliate has 3 main types of training:

  • Official Step-by-Step Training Tutorials created by Kyle & Carson
  • Weekly Live Webinar taught by Jay
  • Member-Generated Training Tutorials

Let me explain what is their official training.

It’s a step-by-step niche marketing, module-based training system with more than 50 lessons organized in an easy-to-follow video tutorials.

You are required to complete task inside each video so that you are ready to proceed to the next level.

Weekly Live Webinar taught by Jay comes in a variety of affiliate business tutorials not covered in the main course.

For example, Jay covered topics such as: (click on the video to access the Jay's webinar)

  1. YouTube Marketing
  2. Email Marketing
  3. Content Marketing
  4. Ads Retargeting

Wealthy Affiliate Weekly Webinar by Jay

Other than the main two training, members are encouraged to create their own training and share inside Wealthy Affiliate.

Credits will be offered by Wealthy Affiliate in exchange for your training content depending on the members engagement level.

2. Community and Personal Consultation


I can't find any complain about support provided inside Wealthy Affiliate.

Whether it is technical or non-technical support, Wealthy Affiliate is simply superb.

Here’s the list of support you can get.

  • 24/7 SiteSupport – technical issues of your website
  • 24/7 Live Chat – any questions about building your online affiliate business
  • Ask The Community - support ticket to the community for help
  • Private Message - Request help from other members
  • Private Message the Owners – Request help directly from owners, Kyle & Carson

3. Tools to Help You Earn Money Online


All the essential tools that you need to start an online affiliate business can be found inside Wealthy Affiliate.

  • Web Hosting
  • Website Builder (SiteRubix - build your free website here)
  • Domain Registration
  • Keyword Research Tool (Jaaxy)
  • Website Comment
  • Feedback Platform
  • Ultimate Writing Platform

Premium members have free access to all tools.

The only additional cost you need to pay is when you purchase own domain. It only cost you around $13 per year.

If there’s anything you need to know about the tools, do leave me a comment below or you can create a free Starter account and explore yourself.

Wait! The FREE Starter Membership is NOT available to everyone…


I am not sure for whatever reason, people from the following countries are not able to join Wealthy Affiliate as free Starter Member:

  • Bangladesh
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Vietnam
  • Nigeria (Not available even for Premium Membership, sorry)

However, if you stay in the above countries (except Nigeria), you are still able to join Wealthy Affiliate directly as a premium member through this link and gain access to everything other premium members are getting.

Click the image below to join Premium membership at only $19 for the first month (normal price is $49 per month)

Special bonus $19 Wealthy Affiliate Premium Member Login

If you are serious about starting an online affiliate business, I truly believe Wealthy Affiliate premium membership is a good start.

Pros & Cons of Wealthy Affiliate

As promised earlier, I will share with you my honest review about Wealthy Affiliate. So here are things that I like and don’t like about this program.

What I Like About Wealthy Affiliate


Exceptionally Supportive & Dynamic Community

I am sure some of you have joined other online social groups or forums with the hope that you can learn something from them.

But which community can really give you workable advice on real ways to earn money online?

I bet not many.

Most people will stuffed you with content that sell their program.

It is really hard for you to find a community that is real and willing to share their business tips and strategies to make you succeed online.

Wealthy Affiliate is different.

Members are exceptionally supportive and dynamic in providing real advice with only one intention – that is to make you successful.

That’s why I always say Wealthy Affiliate is a LEGITIMATE program with community that is uniquely different from other forums or groups.

Continuous Making Improvement to the Platform

Wealthy Affiliate continuously introduce new technology updates and features to its platform with examples as shown below.

  1. SSL security (Jan, 2017)
  2. free 1 million site content images (Oct, 2017);
  3. unlimited keyword research with site ranking tool (Dec, 2017);
  4. UX dashboard reinvented (April, 2018);
  5. brand new homepage (June, 2018);
  6. accelerated speed on all members’ hosted websites (Aug, 2018);
  7. and the latest introduction of a more powerful Wealthy Affiliate mobile responsive design (Sept, 2018).

I can’t list down everything here as there are just so many new updates.

The good news is, all these additions come at no cost to existing premium members!

Amazing Support System

Wealthy Affiliate provides top notch 24/7 support to solve your website technical issues.

I’ve tried so many times and they never fail me, not even once.

Its SiteSupport is remarkable. I always get response to my request in least than 12 hours, actually mostly within 15 minutes.

Amazing right? Not sure how they are able to provide such speedy response.  

I don’t think there are many big companies out there that can be so consistently efficient.

I wonder how big is the support team. Do you have any idea?

Free to Choose Any Niche to Start Your Online Affiliate Business

Wealthy Affiliate always start its training by asking members to find their niche market.

It is a falsely reported by some program claiming members are coaxed into promoting WA affiliate program.

If you don’t’ believe me, you can check their platform using the Free Starter Membership yourself.

No member is ever forced to promote Wealthy Affiliate program.

Wealthy Affiliate always start recommending Online Entrepreneur Certification to anyone who is new.

And the first training is to help you choose your niche and build a website around your interest.

This proves that you can build your online affiliate business in any niche you want!

What I Don't Like About Wealthy Affiliate


More for Beginners

All training in Wealthy Affiliate are geared towards teaching beginners how to find a profitable niche, build a website and promote affiliate products.

There is lack of advanced trainings like how to build a funnel, conversion optimization, and other strategies that can accelerate growth of your existing online affiliate business.  

However, I am not saying Wealthy Affiliate is not workable for intermediate or advanced marketers.

Many of them whom I met have benefited here by taking advantage of the affiliate opportunities offered to them.

Here are two examples:

Grace Prior Experience in Affiliate Marketing

Leo Prior Experience in Wealthy Affiliate

Experienced marketers can also benefit from WA by building a brand name for themselves in their respective niche.

This can be achieved by creating own training and sharing of valuable post inside Wealthy Affiliate.

Other benefit includes hosting SSL Certificates websites that is free in Wealthy Affiliate but charged by other major hosting providers.

Takes a Long Time to See Results

Since Wealthy Affiliate focuses mainly on free traffic to generate income, it will take longer time to see result compared with members in Stack That Money forum applying paid traffic method.

I started to earn my first commission with Wealthy Affiliate on the second month after actively building my blog.

Wealthy Affiliate Florence First Month Commission

But to be realistic, it can takes around 2 to 3 years for you to make sufficient income and quit your 9-5 job, if you are working on WA part-time.

I’ve seen some full time members achieving success in less than a year. But it really takes a lot of hard work and sleepless nights to be like them.

Are you ready for this?

I mean ready with some alternative income that can support you while you build your online affiliate business. And also ready physically fit to work on it day and night.

To be honest, not many people will have patience for this. I used to be like that.

Stopped working on my blog for 18 months due to my 9-5 job commitment that compensate me with big pay check.

I was literally blinded with all the perks I received working for others. Literally forgotten my ultimate goal is to achieve financial freedom.

But I was lucky.

Something happened at workplace that gave me a buzz to re-start my journey with Wealthy Affiliate.

The only reason I am doing this, other than achieving financial freedom, is to have more flexibility in deciding how I want to spend my time.

I just can’t bring myself to give up such a great program that can bring me closer to achieving my dream.

No matter what program you join, there’s no overnight success. If there’s one, I bet it won’t be sustainable.

Trust me, I’ve been there and done that. None gave me anything like Wealthy Affiliate.

Please prove me wrong if you ever found one.

Not Many Paid Marketing Courses

Training in Wealthy Affiliate is comprehensive but it's undeniably not all-inclusive.

This program focuses a lot on Search Engine Optimization (SEO) to generate free traffic to your website.

Content marketing is well-taught in Wealthy Affiliate but not paid marketing. Paid marketing is only taught on a very superficial level.

To be very honest, I would not recommend you to join Wealthy Affiliate if your intention is to make money with paid marketing.

Cost of Joining Wealthy Affiliate

It is free to join as Starter member, but if you decide to join Premium within 7 days, you will be given a special rate of $19 for the first month.

Thereafter $49 per month if you pay monthly and $359 per annum if you subscribe Premium yearly.

I truly believe what you will gained from joining as premium member is far more valuable than the small amount of subscription you pay yearly.

Let’s compare the income you can potentially earned working 9-5 job by having a university degree (tuition fee: approx. $10k to $30k) and the income you can potentially earned joining Wealthy Affiliate (yearly subscription fee: $359).

According to compensation research firm PayScale, an average median income of male and female graduate who work 9-5 job will increase to a maximum of 100% and 70% respectively throughout their career lifetime.

Thereafter both income will decrease as age started from 60 years old onward. Below is the comparison chart.

Graduate 50 Years Income Growth Projection

Payscale research shows that a female graduate will receive a median starting salary of $39,800 and male graduate $50,200 per year.

So if we look at the chart, after a female graduate worked for 30 years, her salary will increased 70% to $67,660 per year. Whereas male graduate salary will increased 100% to $100,400 per year of the same duration.

This means you will need to spend 30 years working 9-5 job to achieve such income.

Compared to successful Wealthy Affiliate members like Jerry, Grace, Mike and Eddy, I believe many of them will only need to spend less than 10 years to reach that amount of income.

Here’s one example of Eddy’s income (he started online affiliate business in 2008).

Wealthy Affiliate _ Eddy 5 figure affiliate income in Aug 2018

I do not want to overstuffed you with too many income proof of Wealthy Affiliate members and the best is you go in as free Starter member to find out more of what others are earning.

Isn’t it obvious that earning money online with Wealthy Affiliate can potentially bring you more income faster than getting a university degree working for others?

Ok, I am not saying getting an academic degree is not going to bring you anywhere. I had my post-graduate degree too.

What I am trying to say is, you have "options" to live the life that you desire.

It is entirely up to you.

But for me, I chose Wealthy Affiliate so I can achieve greater freedom and flexibility in life.

How Much Money Can You Make?

Remember, you are running your own online affiliate business.

How much you want to earn is entirely up to you. Wealthy Affiliate pays monthly through your PayPal.

If you feel selling one product and earn $4,000 a month like what most of their members did is not sufficient for you, then you can promote more products.  

Once you master the trade, there’s no limit to how many products you want to promote.

On top of that, as Premium member, you can build up to 25 domain-registered websites.

You are then able to profit from building other niche businesses.

So do you think there is a limit to how much you can earn?

The sky is the limit!

The Choice is Yours

I hope what I have shared here will give you better idea on how Wealthy Affiliate works.

Also I really hope by now, you already have better understanding of the options you have in order to live the life that you desire.

I am showing you so many income proof not to coax you into believing that earning money online is easy.

Seriously, it is never easy.

Only hard work, persistence and patience that is going to create miracles.

I am talking about real hard work.

But if you manage to achieve success, the result is definitely the sweetest.

I am not sure how other programs can help you build a successful online affiliate business, but one thing for sure, I am confident that Wealthy Affiliate truly can.

In my opinion, Wealthy Affiliate is one of the most affordable yet effective program for beginners to start online affiliate business.

To tell you the truth, I never pay a single cent out of my pocket since starting my journey with Wealthy Affiliate.

All my yearly subscriptions are paid for from my affiliate commissions.

If you’re serious to start online affiliate business, then I suggest you to join Wealthy Affiliate, and learn from the community that helped me start mine.

Are you ready to start?

To get you started, this is what you should do.

Your Next Step

To help you get started with Affiliate Marketing, head over to
Wealthy Affiliate
now where you'll get:

  • Step-by-step guidance
  • 2 Free websites
  • Training on Affiliate Marketing to help you monetize your website

Wealthy Affiliate

Please bear in mind that Wealthy Affiliate is ultimately just a tool.

It is the attitude of “never give up” that truly differs successful marketers from those who fail.

I hope whatever that I have covered here can add value to you.

If you still have any questions that you want to ask about Wealthy Affiliate or if you have other legit, work home opportunities to recommend, please do leave me a comment below.

12 Comments on "Wealthy Affiliate Review: Scam or Cash Generator?"

  1. Hi and thanks for sharing your experiences of trying to create a revenue online. I agree it is a real head spinner with all the fake sites and scams out there. I’m so glad you found a legitimate site like Wealthy Affiliate . The value that is offered is just not beatable by anything I have seen elsewhere. Thanks so much. Kenny

  2. A.J. Somarriba | October 8, 2018 at 7:31 am | Reply

    Wow your site provides lots of valuable content. Just curious how does long did it take to create this website? I am also a blogger and my site has similar number of content like yours. So I was wondering whether I am also doing at a speed that is at par. Btw, thanks for sharing useful facts and stats about joining Wealthy Affiliate. It is really useful. 

  3. Thank you for this great review of Wealthy Affiliate.

    I can confirm what you say in your article. Wealthy Affiliate platform offers what no other affiliate marketing platform does, and at the very affordable price too. If you just downsize your daily latte, you’ll have enough to pay for the premium membership where all the fun happens.

    Also, WA offer a week free test drive – other platforms very rarely do that. You can see for yourself if all this is true and talk to other members to check out every aspect of the training, community, or anything else you need to ask about. 

    And, did you know, you can actually talk directly to the owners of the Wealthy Affiliate too? Kyle and Carson are always available. When I just started I sent a message to Kyle asking him about my chosen niche, and he responded withing hours with a detailed answer and thoughtful suggestions. Amazing!

    • Yes, I private message both Kyle and Carson too!. They are really helpful. Now WA just upgraded with more powerful features. They have also extended the $19 Premium membership promo  (normal price $49) to members at anytime they ready to start. Previously members can only enjoy this promo if subscribed premium within 7 days as starter, if I can remember clearly. So much more value WA has provided to its members since I joined. Indeed an awesome program. 

  4. I see a lot of people recommending this “Wealthy Affiliate” system but have never seem much proof or testimonials to backup their clams. Well, you have outdone this review and I think I can make a more informed decision thanks to you. The fact that there are so many people talking about it, all the testimonials, the free trial and the many features makes it a no brainer in my eyes. Me and my brother are going to start our free trials asap!

    PS: What is that Jaaxy keyword tool like? Is that owned by Wealthy Affiliate too? Cheers for the help.

    • I am not sure weather it is owned by WA but one thing for sure, it is indeed a great tool for anyone who wants to start drive traffic with SEO technique. It is simple to use and less complicated with those more expensive tools. I highly recommend anyone to choose Jaaxy

  5. Tower Bridge Consultants LLC | October 8, 2018 at 8:13 am | Reply

    Wealthy Affiliate is definitely an amazing platform from my experience! I really enjoyed your detailed explanation of the program. We have been premium members of WA for a little while now and I even learned some new stuff just from reading your detailed post. Thank you for your genuine review and look forward to reading more reviews from you.

  6. There are so many programs out there that guarantee success with their training. The last one I tried required an additional thousands of dollars to move to the next phase of the training before I had even gotten a website! And the tools that I needed to use in this program were costing hundreds of dollars each month. So not only had my training and support come to a halt, I was paying subscription fees each month before I really even had a clue as to how to start a business and the steps needed to make it successful. I also have a full-time job, and your review has given me the inspiration to see what wealthy affiliate can do for me!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to analyze traffic and personalize your experience. Information about your use of this site is shared with social media, advertising, and analytics partners for that purpose. If you continue to use this website you are consenting to the use of these cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close